Anagomezgarcia’s Weblog

This is a blog for my students at the Official Language School in Valencia

CONVERSATION LESSON May 2, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — anagomezgarcia @ 7:17 pm

SPEAKING FOR 1 MINUTE:

For small groups. You have a list a subjects to talk about. e.g. Football, the sex life of the inside of a ping-pong ball, cooking. etc. You choose one person to start talking about the subject. If the person repeats a word, hesitates or makes a gramatical error, another person in the group can take over by saying error, hesitation or repetition. It is the teachers job to decide quickly if the interruption is valid. The person who interrupts them must continue. The winner is the person talking at the end of the minute.

YES/NO GAME

Everyone must have played the game in which one person must avoid saying yes or no when asked many questions by the others in the group. The winner is the person who can survive longest. Strangely it seems to be less difficult for a non-native speaker to avoid saying yes/no

CALL MY BLUFF

The students must tell the others something about themselves which is 100% true or 100% false. E.G. I always tell them that my second cousin was the tallest ever woman to live in Britain and tell them some things about it. This happens to be true. This is an excellent game for compulsive liars.

RANKING AND NEGOTIATING :

You are all going on holiday or emigrating to another country in a small car. Each student has 2 objects that they want to take. E.G. A violin, a big dog, 20 bottles of whisky. Each person must argue in favour of their own choices. The student with the most inventive argument wins rather than the most sensible idea.

FAIRY STORIES
Choose a fairy story that everyone knows e.g. Little red riding hood and get small groups to tell the story. (going in a clockwise direction) Each person can only add one word.

STORIES WITH SUSPENSE

Take turns to tell your classmates a story stopping every time it sounds as if there was imminent danger, an unexpected turn in the story, a surprise, something strange, or new, or different even if the continuation is perfectly boring.

DEBATES

Language

Opinions, Preferences:

I think…, In my opinion…, I’d like to…, I’d rather…, I’d prefer…, The way I see it…, As far as I’m concerned…, If it were up to me…, I suppose…, I suspect that…, I’m pretty sure that…, It is fairly certain that…, I’m convinced that…, I honestly feel that, I strongly believe that…, Without a doubt,…,

Disagreeing:

I don’t think that…, Don’t you think it would be better…, I don’t agree, I’d prefer…, Shouldn’t we consider…, But what about…, I’m afraid I don’t agree…, Frankly, I doubt if…, Let’s face it, The truth of the matter is…, The problem with your point of view is that…

http://esl.about.com/lr/class_debates/192044/1/
http://iteslj.org/Lessons/Wachs-RolePlay/fig.html

 

Leave a Reply

